Becoming Like Them

Children make me smile.  Innocent.  Dependent. Amazed at the world around them. Laughing. Awkward.  Real. Without agenda except to live.  And passionate about their parents.  Life is simple. 

   When I look at children I am reminded that Jesus said that we must change and become like them in order to enter into His Kingdom. 

1At that time the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?”

 2 He called a little child and had him stand among them. 3 And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. 4 Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. Matt. 18:1-4

Notice a singular word.  “Change.”  Jesus is exposing the reality that by asking the question of who is greatest proves the disciples are far from having this child-like humility.  The child was not aware of being humble.  He just was. His essence was humility.  No fight over rights.  No bad feelings about the advancement of others.  No demands for attention.  Just an unexpected uneasiness when Jesus puts him front and center and uses him as an example.  I can almost hear him in his discomfort saying, “Can I go back and play now?”

It takes the grace of God to change a man or woman like this.  I’m praying that the Lord will continue to transform me to be child-like to the point where I never notice that I am.

Leave a comment